TD Treasure Hunt is 7 quests, 7 historical figures 7 keys per quest

The story of each character will be told in video via historical content that can be unlocked through quests through the online treasure hunt and on the sites.

Pierre Dugua de Mons

Pierre Dugua de Mons tirelessly supported Quebec City’s founding. Without his perseverance in the face of adversity, Quebec City would not have come into being in 1608. From his first voyage in 1599, he never stopped believing in his dream. He felt trade was the best way to create a New France that would serve the Motherland.  In 1612, he lost Acadia to the Marquise of Guercheville and Jean de Biencourt, a former rival. Throughout all his difficulties, he persisted without ever relinquishing his Calvinist faith. He continued to carry out the mission he had given himself to the best of his abilities until 1622.

Jean Talon

Jean Talon was Intendant of New France for only two short periods: from 1665 to 1668, and from 1670 to 1672. In just five years, he built the colony’s economy, trade and production to such a level that it cast New France into a true golden age. How did he do it?  I invite you to discover with me seven historical videos that will let you discover Jean Talon’s heritage to New France.

Marie Rollet

Marie Rollet is a real pioneer of New France, though she is less well known than her famous husband, Louis Hébert. But her role in developing and sustaining the all-new colony of Quebec was just as critical. By teaching reading and writing to young girls and Indigenous people, by caring for the sick, by providing bread and a roof to many in difficult circumstances, Marie Rollet instilled a profoundly caring aspect to life in New France.

This educated woman, widowed three times, was a steadfast ally of Samuel de Champlain during the occupation of Quebec by the Kirke brothers. Her life was a rich one and a tragic one that is fascinating to discover. Her life story gives a glimpse into several aspects of the colony’s earliest history, including housing, education, food and medical care.

Olivier Le Jeune

Olivier Le Jeune was the first Black slave in Canada. This boy, from either Madagascar or Guinea, was brought to Quebec in 1629 as the slave of David Kirke. During the three years of the occupation, Olivier remained in Quebec, though we sadly do not know what his day-to-day life was like. When Kirke left Quebec, he sold Olivier for 50 écus, or the equivalent of six months’ salary, to Olivier Le Baillif, a French clerk who served the English. In 1632, Le Baillif gave Olivier to Guillaume Couillard, the son-in-law of Louis Hébert and Marie Rollet. Olivier lived in the Couillard-Hébert home, whose ruins can still be seen in the inner yard of the Seminary of Quebec.

Marie-Anne Barbel

Taking advantage of muddy soil to make pottery, getting a land grant right under the nose of her powerful rival (the Receiver of the King’s Domain) and taking away the Tadoussac farm from him, standing up to the King and the equally powerful Jesuits and forcing them to honour their contracts with her, rising from the ashes and reinventing herself after the fall of Quebec: all this and more Marie-Anne Barbel, the Widow Fornel, accomplished. She is a formidable example of what a businesswoman in New France could accomplish.

Kondiaronk

Kondiaronk belonged to the Turtle Clan and had as an animal totem the “ondathra,” or muskrat. Because of this, he was given the nickname “The Rat” by the French. His family also called him “Adario,” which means great and noble friend.

Kondiaronk (Adario) was both the war chief and council chief for the Wendat. Everyone who knew him, even those who liked him less, recognized his subtle political skills and lively spirit, which made him stand out everywhere he went, even among the European elite.

DONNACONA

At the time of the European discovery of North America, Donnacona was the first Indigenous chief and diplomat mentioned in the accounts of explorer Jacques Cartier. Donnacona was the Iroquoian chief of the village of Stadaconé, which used to be at the mouth of the Kiawenrahk River (now known as the St. Charles River). This great chief was around 50 years old when he met Cartier on a peninsula in Gaspé, where Cartier erected a cross against Donnacona’s wishes.

La Chasse au trésor TD c’est 7 quêtes, 7 personnages et 7 clés par quête

L’histoire de chaque personnage sera racontée en capsules vidéo via des contenus historiques qui pourront être débloqués au fil des quêtes à travers la Chasse au trésor en ligne et sur les sites.

Pierre Dugua de Mons

Pierre Dugua de Mons a soutenu sans relâche la fondation de Québec. Sans son acharnement face à l’adversité, Québec n’aurait pas vu le jour en 1608. Depuis son premier voyage en 1599, il n’a de cesse de croire en son rêve. Pour lui, le commerce est le meilleur moyen pour donner naissance à une Nouvelle-France au service de la Mère Patrie. En 1612, il perd l’Acadie aux mains de la marquise de Guercheville et Jean de Biencourt, un de ses anciens collaborateurs.Contre vents et marées, il persiste et signe. Sans jamais renier sa foi calviniste. Jusqu’en 1622, il s’efforce de mener à bien la mission qu’il s’est donnée.

Jean Talon

Jean Talon a été l’intendant de la Nouvelle-France seulement lors de deux courtes périodes: de 1665 à 1668, et de 1670 à 1672. En 5 ans seulement, il va donner une telle impulsion dans l’économie, le commerce et la production de la colonie, qu’il va projeter la Nouvelle-France dans un véritable âge d’or. Comment a-t-il fait ça? Je vous invite à découvrir avec moi en 7 capsules historiques qui vous feront découvrir l’héritage de Jean Talon en Nouvelle-France.

Marie Rollet

Véritable pionnière de la Nouvelle-France, Marie Rollet est moins connue que son célèbre mari, Louis Hébert. Pourtant, son rôle dans le développement et le maintien de la toute jeune colonie de Québec a été tout aussi fondamental. En enseignant la lecture et l’écriture aux jeunes filles et aux autochtones, en soignant les malades, en fournissant pain et gîte à de nombreuses personnes pendant les temps les plus difficiles, Marie Rollet a su conférer un côté profondément humain à la vie en Nouvelle-France.

Olivier Le Jeune

Olivier Le Jeune est le premier esclave noir au Canada. Originaire de Madagascar ou de Guinée, il débarque à Québec en 1629 vers l’âge de 6 ans. Il est alors l’esclave de David Kirke. Pendant les trois années d’occupation, le jeune esclave demeure à Québec et nous ne connaissons malheureusement pas son quotidien. Lors du départ de David Kirke, ce dernier le vend pour 50 écus (l’équivalent d’un salaire de 6 mois d’un ouvrier qualifié) à Olivier Le Baillif, un commis français qui s’était mis au service des Anglais. En 1632, ce dernier en fait don à Guillaume Couillard, le gendre du couple Louis Hébert et Marie Rollet.

Marie-Anne Barbel

Savoir tirer profit d’une terre boueuse en la transformant en poterie ; décrocher une concession au nez de son puissant rival, le receveur du Domaine du Roi ; lui ravir la ferme de la Traite de Tadoussac ; tenir tête au Roi et aux non moins puissants Jésuites, les forcer à honorer leurs contrats avec elle ; pouvoir revivre de ses cendres et se réinventer après la perte de Québec ; tout ça et bien plus encore font de Marie Anne Barbel, veuve Fornel, un redoutable exemple de ce que pouvait accomplir une femme d’affaires en Nouvelle-France.

Kondiaronk

Kondiaronk du clan de la tortue, avait comme animal totem «l’ondathra» , ou rat musqué , d’où le sobriquet le rat , duquel il fut communément connu par les Français . Chez les siens, Kondiaronk avait aussi pour nom « Adario », qui signifie grand et noble ami.

Kondiaronk (adario) cumule, chez les Wendats, les fonctions de chef de guerre et de chef du conseil . Tous les gens qui l’ont connu, même les moins portés à l’admiration, ont reconnu l’extrême finesse de sa politique ainsi que la rare vivacité de son esprit qui le faisait briller partout, même au milieu des élites européennes.

Donnacona

À l’époque de la découverte de l’Amérique, Donnacona est le premier chef diplomate autochtone reconnu dans les récits du navigateur Jacques Cartier. Donnacona était le Chef iroquoien du village de Stadaconé. Un village qui se trouvait à l’embouchure de la rivière Kiawenrahk connu aujourd’hui sous le nom de la rivière Saint-Charles. Chasseur, pêcheur et leader d’une grande sagesse, Donnacona connaissait très bien le territoire du Yawadure soit le fleuve Saint-Laurent et le défendait coûte que coûte. Selon l’histoire, ses relations toujours tendues avec Jacques Cartier lui auraient coûté sa liberté.